Home > comics, review > ‘Detective Comics #878’: a comic review

‘Detective Comics #878’: a comic review

Well, I lied. I said a few weeks ago that I was going to hold off on reviewing Batman comics for a long while, but here I am writing a review of a Batman comic. To be fair, I haven’t read any issues of Detective Comics before, nor have I read any Batman with Dick Grayson as Batman. I have only heard good things about this series of late, so I decided to give it a shot. With that, here is Detective Comics #878.

Writing:

I had assumed there wasn’t an ongoing arc in the series (I was wrong, it was the last of a three part arc), but it was easy enough to follow what was going on. The plot is written well, and writer Scott Snyder does a good job of writing Dick Grayson. There is little traditional about the issue, a different Batman and a non-regular villain (Tiger Shark in this case). It also places an emphasis on the detective side of Batman. Snyder writes an entertaining Batman story.

Art:

My favorite part of the issue was easily the art. Artist Jock’s art style isn’t as traditional as the average superhero comic. Character models have a sense of simplicity, but there’s a strong sense of body language in the figures. They’re simple yet complex. Jock also shows his talent in the action scenes. It’s quick and fluid, but also has that similar simple, yet complex feel to it. Colorist David Baron uses somewhat muted, yet bright, colors that complement Jock’s art nicely. This is a great comic in terms of its art.

Final Opinion:

Detective Comics #878 is an entertaining Batman comic. The writing is good and the art is excellent. I think my experience would’ve been bettered if I had known the events preceding this issue. Even with that handicap on my part I still enjoyed this issue. Not the best Batman comic I’ve read, but it doesn’t have to be. It was a fun read for $3. And it was worth it.

Detective Comics and Batman are owned by DC. The issue was written by Scott Snyder, with art by Jock.

For those that regularly follow my blog I apologize for the delay in between reviews. I’ve been working a lot, with a lot of reading for school, so I’ve had little time to read comics, let alone review them. These delays will be frequent until mid-August or so, but I still plan to review when I can.

Categories: comics, review Tags: , , , ,
  1. Kalen
    July 3, 2011 at 11:27 am

    Scott Snyder is one to watch

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

