Home > comics, Graphic Novels, review > ‘Sin City: Big Fat Kill’: a graphic novel review

‘Sin City: Big Fat Kill’: a graphic novel review

I’ve had little interest in reading Frank Miller’s works after his runs of Daredevil and Batman related material, but having been requested to take a look at the Big Fat Kill volume of Sin City. I’ve come to regard the series with much skepticism as it’s between the ‘Good Miller’ and ‘Bad Miller’ in terms of his writing, and I’ve always felt that the series was responsible for this transformation. Regardless, I decided to give it a shot. The volume’s plot is centered around the killing of an individual and then the disposal of his body, as well outlining the figures of the Sin City world (note: this is the third volume of the series).

Writing:

As I had expected the writing for the series is a segway between the two Miller periods. However, what the style of writing that made All Star Batman and Robin so bad sort of works here. While it does a have it’s jarring moments (there’s some overt repetition), the narration on the whole works. The issue here is that I wasn’t too interested in the plot of the volume itself. Maybe it’s because I was unfamiliar with some of the characters, but it just wasn’t that interesting to me. Nor was I fan of the obvious objectification of women in the narrative. While he justifies his outlook of them based on the premise of a group of a prostitute gang, he obviously takes too far on multiple occasions. In terms of the narrative this isn’t a great nor a bad comic, brought up its highlights and down by the bland plot.

Art:

Much of the noted objectification of women comes from the art itself. While Miller set up the plot to work the way it plays out, its his art that solidifies this objectivity. Even beyond his objectivity towards women I didn’t really care for Miller’s characters design. To me I felt that they were overly detailed and not all that interesting to look at. Ironically part of this attention to detail is also one of my favorite points about this work. The contrast between black and white is done extremely well in this volume. Rain is one of the coolest things to look at here, but so is anything that has strong contrast of the two. On the whole the art is strong in the volume due to this of color contrast, but I don’t care/distaste the character designs.

Final Opinion:

Based on reading the Big Fat Kill I’m not sure why Sin City is all that popular. I didn’t find the storytelling to be all that great, a lot of the narration is similar to Frank Miller’s later ‘bad’ period, though it works to an extent here. I strongly disliked his objectification of women in this volume, which basically ruined the work there for me. However, Miller does an excellent job in his color contrasts between black and white. Thus, I found the Big Fat Kill to be a mixed bag, and okay in the end. Even still it didn’t leave me with the desire to read more of the series.

Sin City is owned, written, and drawn by Frank Miller.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

