Home > pop music, review > 2011 Year-End Top Pop 100: A Review (#75-51)

2011 Year-End Top Pop 100: A Review (#75-51)

This is a continuation of my look at Billboard Magazine’s Year-End Top 100 songs. This post looks at the next 25 hits, #75-51. To see the introduction and see what I thought of the first 25 songs click here.

#75-51 Reviews:

#75: ‘Teenage Dream’-Katy Perry

I have a dual opinion of Katy Perry. First, I dislike her as a musical artist. Second, I acknowledge her ability to have continual catchy hit songs. This applies to this song.

#74: ‘Back to December’-Taylor Swift

If you read the last set of reviews you would’ve noticed my agony with all the country music at the bottom of the charts. Well, it continues with Taylor Swift. But honestly, while it’s sappy in both the teen-sense and country sense, Swift is one of the better pop country acts today.

#73: ‘Without You’-David Guetta ft. Usher

I really like this song. It plays up the talents of both David Guetta and Usher really well.

#72: ‘Like a G6’-Far*East Movement ft. The Cataracs and Dev

Ugh…This song was awful last year, and it’s still awful. The beat actually sort of gives me a headache.

#71: ‘You and I-Lady Gaga

This song is an interesting mix of standard country and Gaga synth hits. It’s good, but the merging of genres is far from perfect.

#70: ‘Pretty Girl Rock’-Keri Hilson

It’s pretty bland. Also, there’s nothing in the beat and medley to suggest any sort of ‘rock’ of any sort.

#69: ‘We Found Love’-Rihanna ft. Calvin Harris

Initially I wasn’t sure what to think of this song the first time I heard it months ago. But, by now it’s grown on me. It’s not perfect, and maybe not great, but it’s definitely pretty good.

#68: ‘Don’t You Wanna Stay’-Jason Aldeman ft. Kelly Clarkson

Wow. I’m surprised at how bland this song is. I’m literally forgetting about it as I write this.

#67: ‘Honey Bee’-Blake Shelton

No.

#66: ‘For the First Time’-The Script

I hate these kind of songs. The sappy love song that lyrically and musically doesn’t come off as really sincere.

#65: ‘DJ Got us Fallin’ in Love’-Usher ft. Pitbull

This song is great. The only real flaw is the appearance by Pitbull. Everything thing else is good.

#64: ‘Bottoms Up’-Trey Songz ft. Nicki Minaj

Trey Songz missed the crunk craze by a couple of years, but tries to mix it with some of the club style of today’s pop hip-hop and it just doesn’t work. Nicki Minaj also doesn’t really mesh that well into the song either.

#63: ‘Written in the Stars’-Tinie Tempah ft. Eric Turner

Eric Turner’s chorus part is pretty cheesy. However, I really like Tinie Tempah’s verses.

#62: ‘What the Hell’-Avril Lavigne

Again. No.

#61: ‘More’-Usher

The beat isn’t as strong as Without You or DJ Got Us Fallin’ in Love, but this song is good too. Usher is really back on his game.

#60: ‘Hold It Against Me’-Britney Spears

Britney Spears has gone from teen pop star to a pseudo-DDR artist.

#59: ‘All of the Lights’-Kanye West (ft. a whole bunch of people)

The production value on this song is really good. Lyrically it has a few hiccups. But on the whole this is one my favorite pop songs of the year. (Also, the single version is better than the album version.)

#58: ‘Rocketeer’-Far*East Movement ft. Ryan Tedder

This song is decent. However, when one compares it to Like A G6 it’s light years packed with talent.

#57: ‘Sexy and I Know It’-LMFAO

*sigh*

#56: ‘Roll Up’-Wiz Khalifa

I don’t know why people think Wiz Khalifa has talent. However, this chorus is painfully catchy.

#55: ‘Jar of Hearts’-Christina Perri

I really don’t like these songs. They don’t take much talent to make. I mean they’re basically the same aesthetics of teen pop stars singing ballads.

#54: ‘Stereo Love’-Edward Maya & Vika Jigulina

It’s nice to see Euro Pop make the charts here. It’s not perfect, but it’s a nice break from the norm.

#53: ‘Motivation’-Kelly Rowland ft. Lil Wayne

It’s nice to see more female representation on the charts. Though this song isn’t the best for that.

#52: ‘Just A Dream’-Nelly

It’s good. It’s grown a bit on me since it made the charts last year.

#51: ‘I Need A Doctor’-Dr. Dre ft. Eminem and Skylar Grey

It’s really a song of Eminem ft. Dr. Dre, but it still works. There are flaws in the song, but on the whole it’s pretty good.

And that was the songs #75-51 on Billboard Magazine’s Year-End Top Pop 100. In a few days I’ll post the rest my reviews for the rest of the chart.

Categories: pop music, review Tags: , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

