Home > analysis > SOPA, PIPA, and Me

SOPA, PIPA, and Me

I write this on a snowy day, a day I should be doing more school work than I am, or even playing some video games. I also write this on the day of the massive internet protests against the SOPA (Stop Online Piracy Act) and PIPA (Protect IP Act). My life may be ‘inconvenienced’ for a day due to the lack of wikipedia, several of my favorite webcomics, and the That Guy With the Glasses website, but I’m proud that they’re doing it. I understand the intent of the blackout fully and support it. In many ways I feel a part of the protests.

I am participant of the protests indirectly because I visit those websites. My emotion of pride creates solidarity with their protest struggle. But I’m engaged more directly too. I currently type this in a wordpress browser, a site whose homepage displays all the ‘freshly pressed’ blogs as censored. WordPress (and now myself by creating this post) establish the connectivity to blogging and the SOPA and PIPA bills. The blog could be about cooking or kittens but now there’s an assertion that even that voice is threatened.

As a blogger who works with media in not only my reviews, but also in videos and podcasts. While I’m not always prolific, it’s an aspiration. It’s a culture that interests me and I actively want to participate. While from a judicial sense this media work is an infringement on piracy laws, it’s also never done with harmful intent. It’s done simply for informational and comedic purposes. A critic simply put. Why is this wrong?

I recently read a quote that said that piracy makes only a small dent in company wallets and it causes them to lose profit. This may or may not be true. But I do know what is true. If SOPA (and PIPA) are passed we all lose.

 

 

To find me about the bills see the attached links: SOPA and PIPA.

Categories: analysis Tags: , , , ,
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

